The Homeland Security Experts Group (HSEG) is an independent, nonpartisan group of homeland security policy and counter-terrorism experts who convene periodically to discuss issues in depth, share information and ideas with the Secretary of Homeland Security, government agencies and policymakers, increase awareness of the evolving risks facing our nation, and help make our country safer. The HSEG is co-chaired by former Secretary of Homeland Security Michael Chertoff and former Congresswoman Jane Harman.


The group works to put on the annual Homeland Security Enterprise Forum, with a mission to bring voices of United States government agencies, the private sector, and civil-society all together in one summit to engage in meaningful, solutions-focused dialogue. The forum showcases how multi-disciplinary the homeland security enterprise space truly is.

SPecial Thanks

We would like to offer special thanks to members of the forum steering committee, who provided valuable insights and input on strategy.

Michael Chertoff (Co-Chair)

Former Secretary of Homeland Security,
Executive Chairman and Co-founder
The Chertoff Group

Jane Harman (Co-Chair)

Former Representative, 36th Congressional District of California
President Emeritus  
Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars

Bob Rose

Founder and President
Robert N. Rose Consulting Senior Advisor
The Chertoff Group

Cathy Lanier

Former Chief, Metropolitan Police Department
Senior Vice President of Security
National Football League

Connie LaRossa

National Security Policy

David Heyman

Former Assistant Secretary of Homeland Security for Policy
President & CEO, Smart City Works

Jessica Stern

Former Director for Russian, Ukrainian, and Eurasian Affairs
National Security Council Research Professor
Pardee School, Boston University

Juan Zarate

Former Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy  
National Security Advisor for Combatting Terrorism
Chairman and Co-Founder of The Financial Integrity Network

Kirstjen Nielsen

Former Secretary of Homeland Security
President, Lighthouse Strategies

Starnes Walker

Former Director of Research, DHS Executive Director
Office of Naval Research Chief Technology Officer & Technical Director
U.S. Fleet Cyber Command

Stewart Baker

Former Assistant Secretary of Homeland Security for Policy
Partner, Steptoe & Johnson LLP

William Evanina

Former Director, National Counterintelligence and Security Center
Founder and CEO
The Evanina Group

Robert Walker

Executive Director Homeland Security Experts Group

Sarah Elzeini

SMZ International Group